The Sound of Music

23rd - 27th June 2020

Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham

Lyrics by Lindsay and Crouse Fain
Music by Rodgers and Hammerstein

Stage Director:
Helen Carter

Musical Director:
     David Manifold



The Sound of Music is considered to be the world's most beloved musical. The original Broadway production starred Mary Martin as Maria and won five Tony Awards in 1959 including Best Musical. It then went on to cinematic history with Julie Andrews in the starring role. The show features some of the most delightfully infectious songs of all time by songwriters Rodgers and Hammerstein and Librettists Lindsay and Crouse.

When a tomboyish postulant at an Austrian Abbey proves too high-spirited for the religious life, she is dispatched to serve as a governess in the home of a widowed naval captain with seven children and brings a love of life and music back into the home. They fall in love and marry, but upon returning from their honeymoon, they discover that Austria has been invaded by the Nazis, who demand the captain‘s immediate service in their navy. The family’s narrow escape over the mountains to Switzerland on the eve of World War II provides one of the most thrilling and inspirational finales ever presented in the theatre. The unforgettable score features some of the most memorable songs ever performed on stage, including Edelweiss, My Favorite Things, Do-Re-Mi, So long, Farewell, Climb Ev’ry Mountain, and of course, the title song, The Sound of Music. The show is guaranteed to win your heart!


Cast List

Maria RainerEmily Abbott
Captain Georg von Trapp    Stephen Bennett
Max DetweilerBrian Levine
Elsa SchraederLaura Carey
Liesl von TrappHatty Davis
Friedrich von TrappFreddie Flood / Jack Parrott
Louisa von TrappNeala Beirne / Lotte Freeman
Kurt von TrappThomas Smith / Oliver Dyer
Brigitta von TrappLola Carter / Holly Jameson
Martha von TrappEva Carey Nunes / Jasmine Went
Gretl von TrappZoe Clarke / Eliza Griffiths
Mother AbbessVickie Long
Sister BerthaLesley Hendrie
Sister MargarettaPenny Lewis
Sister SophiaKaren Jameson
Rolf GruberJamie Evans
Herr ZellerSimon Lewis
Admiral von SchreiberOlli Williams
Frau SchmidtSally Lewis
FranzAndy Greetham
Solo NunGrace Lupson-Darnell
New PostulantPolly Saunders
Baron ElberfeldDuncan Hooper
Baroness ElberfeldHelen Hooper

Children Ensemble:

Holly Cox / Bella Lyftogt
Jem Paris Johnstone / Harry Wood
Chloe Emery / Charlotte Berry

Female Dancer Ensemble:

Alice Wilman
Polly Saunders
Daisy Charles
Sophia Weygang

Male Dancer Ensemble:

Stephen Santouris
Carrick Stimson-Machers

Female Ensemble:

Sarah Aston
Selina Greenland
Tracy Sweeting
Fiona Hale
Sarah Thompson
Helen Hooper
Grace Lupson-Darnell
Kimberley Price

Male Ensemble:

Simon Lewis
Samuel Taunton
Olli Williams
Duncan Hooper
Richard Berry
Malcolm Webb
Morgan Newman
Neil Morgan
Richard Schofield





© Cotswold Savoyards 2017